HINDI DEBATING SOCIETY

The Hindi Debating Society, Miranda House, inaugurated in the year 2017 has added multiple feathers to Miranda House's vividly decorated cap. The Debating Society, although being the youngest in the circuit, has proved its mettle and all the members of the society have grown exponentially as debaters through the various competitions. Members of the Society have participated in and won various competitions organised across colleges in Delhi University and Universities across the country. The various competitions that the students participated in include: conventional debate, parliamentary debate, declamation, turn-Coat, extempore, creative-writing and poetry-slam.

The society has been involved constantly in improving debating and oratory skills of the members and regular practice sessions are organised for the same. The members' hard-work has payed off and the members have come put with flying colours.

The society also successfully organised two Inter-university debate competitions which saw participation from different universities. A Conventional Debate competition was organised on 25th September 2017. As part of the 'Hindi Rashtra-bhasha Diwas', the society organised another conventional debate on 21st February 2017.

The society won laurels in various Inter-University Fests organised by different colleges. In 'Kashiyatra-2017', the cultural fest of IIT BHU, Varanasi, the society participated in 5 literary events, and secured four 1st positions and one 2nd position. In Rajasthan University's International Youth fest- Ghoomar, members of the society represented Delhi University and won the second position in debate competition.

The various competitions that the members of the Hindi Debating Society participated in are as follows:

- Richa Mishra (B.A. Hons Hindi, 3rd Year) and Priyanka Badhani (B.A. Hons Hindi, 3rd Year) 1st position in conventional debates in Hindu College (KK Birla Memorial Conventional Debate), Lady Shri Ram College for Women, PGDAV College and Kamla Nehru College.
- Richa Mishra (B.A Hons Hindi, 3rd Year) 1st position in Conventional Debate in Kashiyarta organised by IIT BHU, Varanasi, 1st position in Internaional Youth Fest lorgaised by Rajasthan University
- Charukeshi Bhatt (B.A. Hons Political Science, 3rd Year) Best Speaker in JMC Conventional Debate, 2nd Position in Conventional Debate organised by NSS, Miranda House, 1st Position in Slam-poetry and extempore in Kashiyarta organised by IIT BHU, Varanasi
- o Kajal Sumal (B.A. Hons Hindi, 2nd Year) 2nd Position in conventional Debate in Kashiyarta organised by IIT BHU, Varanasi, 1st Position in Conventional Debate organised by Shyamlal College Evening, Delhi University
- Sania Shaheedi (B.A. Hons Philosophy, 1st Year) 3rd Position in Conventional Debate in Kirorimal College, Delhi University, 2nd Position in Hindi Quiz in Kashiyatra organised by IIT BHU, Varanasi
- o Preeti Chauhan (B.A. Hons Economics, 1st Year)- 3rd Position in Declamation Competition organised by Rani Lakshmibai College, Delhi University

o Tusli (B.A. Hons Economics, 1st Year)- 3rd Position in Hindi Quiz in Kashiyarta organised by IIT BHU, Varanasi.

Apart from these, members also showed great enthusiasm and participated in different events across Universities. All the members of the society always strive to learn and through the process, improve. The numerous events where our members participated are as follows:

- o Richa Mishra (B.A. Hons Hindi; 3rd Year), Charukeshi Bhatt (B.A Hons Political Science, 3rd Year); Sania Shaheedi (B.A. Hons Philosophy,1st Year); Kajal Sumal (B.A. Hons Hindi, 2nd Year); Priyanka Badhani (B.A Hons Hindi, 3rd Year) partcipated in Parliamentary Debate held from 24th February 2018-26th February 2018 organised by Zakir Hussain Delhi College, Delhi University
- Tulsi (B.A. Hons Economics, 1st Year); Gunjan (B.A. Hons Economics, 1st Year)
 participated in Conventional Debate Organised by Shivaji College, Delhi
 University
- Gunjan (B.A. Hons Economics, 1st Year) participated in Conventional Debate organised by Reserve Bank of India
- Gunjan (B.A. Hons Economic, 1st Year); Sakshi (B.A. Hons Economics, 1st Year); Hemadri Sharma (B.A. Programme, 1st Year) participated in Literary Event organised by SRCC.
- Sakhshi (B.A. Hons Economics, 1st Year); Gunjan (B.A. Hons Economics, 1st Year) participated in Conventional Debate organised by Hindu College.
- o Richa Mishra (B.A. Hons Hindi, 3rd Year); Charukeshi Bhatt (B.A. Hons Political Science, 3rd Year) won Consolation prize in Conventional Debate organised by Sri Aurobindo College, Delhi University.
- Richa Mishra and Priyanka Badhani participated in Conventional Debate organised by Jesus and Mary College, Delhi University
- o Richa Mishra and Priyanka Badhani participated in KK Birla Memorial Conventional Debate organised by Hindu College, Delhi University

The Debating Society will also introduce a Running trophy for its annual Conventional Debate Competition to be held in the month of April.