Courses on offer at MH

The college offers a wide range of Honours Courses and Programme Courses. These are:

  • B.A. Programme
  • B.A. Honours in Bengali, Economics, English, Geography, Hindi, History, Philosophy, Political Science, Sanskrit, and Sociology.
  • B.Sc. Honour in Botany, Chemistry, Mathematics, Physics, and Zoology.
  • B.Sc. Life Sciences: 3 domains of study, namely, Botany, Zoology and Chemistry
  • B.Sc. Physical Sciences: 3 domains of study, namely, Physics, Mathematics and Computer Science.
  • B.El.Ed. (Bachelor in Elementary Education)

Undergraduate Curriculum Framework (UGCF) as per NEP 2020
Implemented from the Academic Session 2022-23

UGCF Structure for Bachelor of (Field of Study/ Discipline) (Hons.) and Multidisciplinary Course of Study.

Framework: Choice Based Credit System (CBCS) for students admitted in the Academic Years 2019-20, 2020-21 and 2021-22

CBCS has been adopted as part of National Policy across the country from the academic year 2015-16. This offers the operative framework for all undergraduate courses at Delhi University except for B.El.Ed. which is yet in annual mode and follows a different structure.

The degree programmes under CBCS follow a common structure and a common grading system. To see the policy document, Click here. The requisite courses of study over the three year degree programme are depicted in the graphic.

  • All courses are modular and semester based. The classification of courses follows the uniform nomenclature proposed by CBCS. As depicted, the students are required to take a prescribed set of
    • Core Courses; these define the minimum common curriculum and cover the basics of a particular discipline.
    • Elective Courses; these are chosen from a pool of courses that are very specific or specialized. They are (i) Discipline Specific (ii) Generic Electives chosen from an unrelated discipline/subject in order to seek exposure beyond the choices made in core and discipline specific elective courses.
    • Ability Enhancement Courses (AEC); these aim for ability of skill enhancement and are (i) Ability Enhancement Compulsory Courses (AECC) based on content that leads to knowledge enhancement. DU; and (ii) Skill Enhancement Courses (SEC) chosen from a pool of courses designed to provide value-based or skill-based knowledge with both theory and lab/hands-on training/field work.
  • At DU, the two mandatory AECC courses are (a) Environmental Science and (b) Language and communication with a choice of languages, i.e., English/ Hindi/MIL.
  • At DU, the SEC courses are linked to the main discipline of study.
  • Students can opt from a range of GE courses in accordance with their choice.