Extension Activities of the DS Kothari

Base Line Test

The Baseline Science Tests in Chemistry, Physics and Biology were introduced in 2008-2009. In the academic year 2010-2011, the Test Series was expanded to include Baseline Tests in the Earth Sciences and Mathematics. All undergraduate students, irrespective of the course or year of study, are eligible to take the test. A student is free to take the test in more than one stream. To instill serious participation, there is a small Entry Fee for each Baseline Test with concessions for multiple registrations. A large number of students register for multiple tests. The Baseline Tests is a regular activity of the Centre, organized in the first term.


The Baseline Science Tests are designed to evaluate the students’ understanding of basic scientific concepts in the relevant disciplines through a series of carefully designed questions. The inter-departmental faculty teams preparing the questions for the tests make a special effort to ensure that the questions are not routine examination style questions and require understanding and application of concepts rather than rote learning.


The format of the Baseline Test includes

  • Written test: This is of one hour duration. It has three sections.
    • Section 1 has 40 Multiple Choice Questions (MCQ) with carefully chosen distractors.
    • Section 2 has two concept-based questions.
    • Section 3 has 2 numerical problems.
  • Exposition: The top three students from each subject-based Baseline Test are eligible for this round. These shortlisted students are required to make a PowerPoint presentation on an interdisciplinary scientific topic of contemporary interest.
    • Each presentation is of 8-minute duration with a 2-minute time for interjections.


The Baseline Test includes much coveted prestigious awards.

  • For each subject Baseline Test, the top three students are given a Cash Award. In case of a tie, all students are similarly rewarded.
  • The D S Kothari Centre Science Award is given to the winner of the Exposition Round. There are awards also for the First and Second Runners Up and the Best Interjector.
  • All Baseline Test Awards are given on the stage at the Founder’s Day of the College held on 7 March. They include a cash reward and a Certificate of Merit.


  • First, Second- and Third-Year students in any Science Stream.
  • First Year students in non-science courses from the Science Stream in Class XII Examination.
  • The Baseline Test is so far open to students of Miranda House only.